How To: Propagate Jade Plants

Hi all, have you seen those beautiful jade plants before? They are a bit more difficult to propagate than your basic sedum or ghost plant.

You’ve probably researched it, but either come empty or not enough pictures to get a visual. Sometimes it’s easier to look at something than read it! I had trouble propagating my first jade plant because I had no idea you had to cut them and I was trying to break the leaf off by going side to side! I hope my information can help you begin the propagation of your jade leaves.

CUT THE JADE LEAVES FROM THE MOTHER PLANT

Feel free to get your handy dandy scissors and cut them at the base of the leaf.IMG_4697 copyIMG_4694 copyIMG_4700 copy

LET YOUR LEAF ENDS CALLUS

At this time, don’t water them. Leave them alone for a couple/few days until you see that they have callused over the cut end. You want them to look like the ones in the photos below. Once your leaves hit this point, it’s ready to be watered!
IMG_4685 copy

WATER THEM WITH A SPRAY BOTTLE

Depending on your location, whether it’s hot or cold, water them accordingly. It’s a bit hard to tell you how much you should water them. For example, right now in my city, it is summer and in the 100-90 degree F (32-37 degree C), I leave them at my west facing window, and it gets sunlight for several hours. I do spray them once a day or twice with water when I think they are getting too much sunlight. On days where it’s 100+ degrees I do put my blinds down. I personally never had an issue with them having water rot.
IMG_4701 copy

WAIT FOR THEM TO FULLY GROW AND FOR THE LEAVES TO DRY

This part is probably the worse part of all. The propagation time for these are quite long. It took more than 2 months for me to see some growth, sometimes it’s a bit earlier, but it still took a few weeks. Then it will take a couple more months for them to be ready to pot. I would recommend cutting a few leaves, since the growing time takes so long, it’ll be more worth it!
IMG_4688 copyIMG_3571 copy

HAVE YOU GUYS PROPAGATED ANY JADE LEAVES? WHAT’S YOUR EXPERIENCE LIKE? LET ME KNOW IN THE COMMENTS! TAG ME ON IG @TINYHONEYCO, FOR ME TO SEE YOUR LITTLE ONES!

If you found this blog helpful, don’t forget to like, follow, and share!

signature

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Gretchen (Greenhousegirl94) says:

    Once they are ready to pot, do you just plant the big leaf down in the soil with the little, new part above the soil?

    Like

    1. helloredrubi says:

      When they are ready to pot the new growth should be able to come off the dried leaf. You then pot the baby succulent on top of the soil, BUT if you wanted to put the leaf in soil then go for it, nothing wrong with that 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

